Park Hyatt Guangzhou: The Sweet Upgrade

2

The Park Hyatt Guangzhou Hotel Review is part of The Year of the Monkey Trip Report which covers the following places:


Getting There: Follow my Uber China Workaround or take a metered taxi from the airport for 180 RMB.


Overview: Grand Hyatt vs. Park Hyatt 

There are Park Hyatts and then there are Park Hyatts. Unlike the Park Hyatt Melbourne or the Park Hyatt Toronto, the Park Hyatt Guangzhou falls into the latter category. Situated in the business district of Guangzhou, the Park Hyatt Guangzhou is one of the best Park Hyatts in the collection. (see all my Park Hyatt reviews here) The Park Hyatt Guangzhou dwarfs the Grand Hyatt Guangzhou. It literally towers over the Grand Hyatt. Since it opened in January of 2016, it is also equipped with the latest of the latest.

Looking down at GH
Looking down at GH

2016-12-29 16.18.55 2016-12-29 16.54.51

Outside the PH
Outside the PH

The Remarkable Building 

Who doesn’t like tall buildings? In the middle of Guangzhou’s skyscrapers, you’ll find the Park Hyatt which occupies the top floors of this remarkable building. 2016-12-29 16.09.552016-12-29 16.09.392016-12-29 16.15.00 2016-12-29 16.12.00 Less Is More: The Hotel’s Interior

The hotel is massive but is not full of ornate decorations. That’s less work for me. I appreciate that and the beauty of such simplicity. 2016-12-29 15.09.35

2016-12-29 15.06.21
Ground floor
Lobby on the 65th
Lobby on the 65th
Lobby on the 65th
Lobby on the 65th
Lobby
Lobby
Canton Tower
Canton Tower from the Lobby

Monkeys on the Bed 

I shirked my blogger responsibility when I stepped into the suite. Instead of taking photos of everything when it was in perfect condition, I, out of excitement, jumped on the bed. Here are the resulting photos of this fantastic room.   2016-12-29 14.43.08 2016-12-29 14.43.14 2016-12-29 14.43.27 2016-12-29 14.43.32 2016-12-29 14.43.42 The Suite 

Was this an apartment or a hotel room? Pick where you want to sit, enjoy your espresso, do some work, or do nothing. 2016-12-29 14.44.57 2016-12-29 14.45.04 2016-12-29 14.45.09 2016-12-29 14.45.14 2016-12-29 14.45.33 2016-12-29 14.45.50 2016-12-29 14.46.01 2016-12-29 14.46.542016-12-29 14.48.23 2016-12-29 14.50.51 2016-12-29 14.47.07 2016-12-29 14.47.12 2016-12-29 14.48.142016-12-29 14.45.23 2016-12-29 14.48.05 The View 

Look around, that’s the view of prosperity or an economic bubble. Either way, it’s glorious what man can build. 2016-12-29 14.45.42

2016-12-29 14.47.23
Guangzhou East & West Tower
2016-12-29 14.47.36
Guangzhou East & West Tower
The suite by night
The suite by night

2016-12-29 21.39.49 2016-12-29 21.40.45 Where’s the Mini-Bar?

A man walks into a restaurant, you listenin’…

I was looking for a wine key and stumbled upon the mini-bar.

Where is the mini bar?
Where is the mini bar?
Looking for wine key
Looking for wine key
There it is
There it is

The Greatest Shower 

I need to redo my I Need a Shower: The Top 7 Spots to Lather up post to include this shower experience. Why have one rainfall shower when you can have two? Also, unlike many hotels, the hot water was hot, hot, hot. 2016-12-29 14.44.12 2016-12-29 14.44.04 2016-12-29 14.43.48 2016-12-29 14.43.54 2016-12-29 14.44.38 2016-12-29 14.44.45 2016-12-29 14.44.31

Double rainfall shower
Double rainfall shower

The Toilet 

You’re the son of a king, why shouldn’t you walk on the petals of roses?

Roses and toilets go hand-in-hand. The gripe about my bathroom at home and on the road continues as I question why I don’t have a heated toilet that automatically goes up when I’m in the vicinity. 2016-12-29 14.44.18 The Happy Hour 

The Park Hyatt does not have a Regency Club but it did have a happy hour on the lobby floor featuring more soup and wine, my favorites.

The happy hour
The happy hour

The Rooftop Bar 

I have already reviewed Where to Party in Guangzhou. On the top of that list and on the top of the hotel is The Rooftop Bar. It is the best and most convenient place to get a photo of the Canton Tower.

Canton Tower
Canton Tower
Beautiful Guangzhou
Beautiful Guangzhou

Overall 

Stay at the Park Hyatt Guangzhou but stay for longer than one night, especially if you have a suite upgrade.

A Video of It All  Since I am out of adjectives to describe this great hotel, I will leave you with a video tour of the room.

2 COMMENTS

  1. hey tpol,

    I’ll be spending a night in guangzhou later this year. would you recommend the GH or PH?

    by the looks of it both are very modern, PH just opened, and GH looks like it was refurbished not too long ago.

Leave a Reply