Hotel Review: Radisson Blu Saga Hotel Reykjavik

3

The Radisson Blu Saga Reykjavik Hotel Review is part of the Whose Land? Iceland Trip Report which covers the following cities:

Here is the Picture Preview.


Getting There: The Saga Hotel is a twenty-minute walk from the city center or a five-minute taxi.


2016-06-20 12.18.10
Radisson Blu Saga Hotel

Location 

After a long day traveling to and from the Glacier Lagoon, I stopped at the hot dog spot one more time before checking out of the Radisson 1919. I took a taxi to the Saga Hotel and arrived at midnight with only 12 hours to spend there before heading to the airport. Since it was Sunday night and the bars closed at 1:30AM, I didn’t mind that I was not in the heart of the action. At the same time, there is a lobby bar with multiple TVs, perfect for watching GS’s meltdown in the NBA Finals.

2016-06-19 22.34.35
The bar
2016-06-19 22.34.59
Living room
2016-06-20 00.29.16
NBA Finals

The Room 

The room was basic but the bed was a lot more comfortable than the 1919.

2016-06-19 22.42.13
A real bed
2016-06-19 22.42.20
The blue wall
2016-06-19 22.44.01
When’s the last time anyone sat at a hotel desk?
2016-06-19 22.44.06
No Nespresso, lame
2016-06-19 22.44.25
A chair
2016-06-20 11.50.06
Not the same view as 1919
2016-06-20 11.50.12
The balcony

The Bathroom 

The bathroom was much smaller than the 1919 and had a spaceship for a shower.

2016-06-19 22.43.18
Spaceship
2016-06-19 22.43.26
Retro sink
2016-06-19 22.43.31
Futuristic device

The Hotel Itself 

The hotel is old. There’s nothing wrong with it but I wouldn’t go out of my way to stay here, especially if I had to pay for the room.

2016-06-19 22.33.58
The lobby

The Service 

Like the 1919, the service at this hotel was great. The front desk was very helpful in arranging the bus to the airport.

Overall 

Like this review, my stay at the Saga Hotel was brief. If you have Club Carlson points to burn and don’t want to pay the premium for 1919 then this is a suitable option.

 

 

3 COMMENTS

  1. You missed the best part-the Saga hotel prides itself on having the best buffet breakfast in Reykjavik – and I agree!!! Also right near the Icelandic national Museum, well worth a visit.

    • That I do regret. If it is anything like the 1919…but we were so exhausted from Iceland that waking up was not an option.

Leave a Reply